By now you may have heard that Southern California has become the United State’s newest fireplace. The BBC even covered the story.

Over at a friend’s blog she asked “What Would You Save” and CNN in partnership with TIME ran an article documenting some of the things that people had saved from their homes.

I had a hard time coming up with 5 things, but perhaps that stems from the way I grew up.

Needless to say, it can be somewhat emotional to put yourself in the shoes of others during times of emergency. I’ve mentioned before that I like to make up stories based on minimal information. So when I saw this image, it really set off a story for me. The things she took (if you don’t like clicking on links) were two pictures in frames, and a Dr. Seuss book.

As a fun creative writing exercise, or just a stretching of the mental mass, what reasons can you think of that would explain this book being saved?

