Everyone seems to have their own ideas and opinions on the subject of Keyword Density. Check your favorite SEO blog (don’t have one?) and I’m sure you’ll find an article or two on the subject.

While I have not directly posted on the subject before today, I have touched on the subject in my article about writing content. The post is also a representation of what I think is a good use of keywords in the content, also known as “Keyword Density,” as well as an example of a few other tactics to help your content get found in the search engines.

So, instead of following the pack and writing a report of the perfect ratio of content/keywords, I thought I’d post something a bit different.

The White Hat Approach to Keyword Density

Bush's White Hat

White Hats will typically give you one very short answer when asked about Keyword Density; “It should appear natural.” While it is a fairly true statement, it still makes me chuckle. It should “appear” natural. That reminds me of cleaning my room when I was a young boy. It would “appear” clean, as all the clothes and Ninja Turtles were stuffed under my bed. I told myself this was natural, as the bed must have been made with this design perk in mind for kids. White hatters can wind up doing the same thing. They convince themselves that the 500+ word article they just wrote/optimized looks natural with Globo Gym found 15 times in the content, every time bolded.

The Black Hat Approach to Keyword Density

Bush's Black Hat

I don’t think Keyword Density is a term many black hats worry themselves with these days. Keyword Stuffing is more their flavor. I have personally yet to give something like this a try, but apparently it can and will work. It is important to note that Michael’s success in this case study is in part due to the lack of competition for the term. Trying to stay in the top 10 with stuffed content in a competitive niche is just… airy.

